Tom Sweeney

It's a coming of age tale….

The end of an era…

Posted by sweens on March 31, 2010


Yesterday marked the end of an era for me. I rushed out of work in order to get to my hockey game on time. I took the usual drive down Carling Avenue and made the right hand turn onto Moodie Drive so I could catch the 417. Traffic seemed slower then normal though on Moodie and as I slowly moved up the road I saw what the hold up was. A large utility truck was parked on the right side with a crane adjusting the old Nortel sign.

Unfortunately they were not performing repairs on this sign. They were taking it down. The sign which for so many years has said Nortel was no longer there. It has been replaced by several smaller signs representing the companies that have bought divisions of Nortel like Ericsson and Avaya.

This to me was truly a symbolic end to the once upon a time Telecomm giant; a building, campus and culture known to many in the Ottawa area as a significant landmark in the city’s West end.

Leave a Reply

 
