Tom Sweeney

It's a coming of age tale….

It’s tough being a recruiter…

Posted by sweens on October 30, 2009


I find it tough being a recruiter sometimes! I do not mean because the job is demanding or the stress is insurmountable; but rather that sometimes, it is easy to be torn between the needs of your company and the needs of your candidates. As a recruiter I feel a direct tie to my candidates and that essentially I am their agent. I take on the responsibility of marketing them in a way that best represents their own needs as well as protects the needs of my company.

I recently spoke to a candidate who is displeased in their contract. The rate was not overly generous and I think the work environment might have been a little mundane at times. When they called me to explain why they were leaving prematurely, I could not help but agree with them. Every reason they came up with was accurate from their point of view and I could not help but think that if I was in that position, I would be doing the same.

Is this a normal feeling for recruiters?

I certainly did not put my company in a vulnerable position and suggest that the candidate was misrepresented – because they were not. The candidate was given all the facts before they signed up but it just was not a win-win situation for everyone involved.

I also found myself in a situation where I was working off limited information about the project and the client. This has ultimately comes around and proven to be a problem. As I mentioned before, sometimes when a recruiter recruits a positions for a system integrator, all the facts just are not there.

Very frustrating! Anyone else in the same boat??

One Response to “It’s tough being a recruiter…”

  1. Jonathan said

    Hi Tom,

    Definitely. Especially, when I put in a lot of time with a particular candidate, I feel like I have a real connection to him, and a stake in his success and happiness at the new position.

    If there is a problem, I always hope that the candidate will talk to me first. But even if I follow up and check on the candidate regularly, they won’t always tell me right away when something is wrong.

    I think it’s particularly difficult for recruiters rather than account execs, because (at least at my company), we were almost exclusively with the candidates. We don’t have much contact with the clients. So it’s easy to see why one’s allegiance can be with the candidate.

    In the end, if it’s not a good fit, it’s not a good fit. There’s not much that one can do about it. It’s better to try to smooth over the transition than encourage someone to stay in a position that isn’t right for them.

Leave a Reply

 
