Tom Sweeney

It's a coming of age tale….

What’s Your LinkedIn Strategy?

Posted by sweens on October 14, 2009


Ask yourself: “What’s my LinkedIn strategy?” If nothing comes to mind, it could mean one of two things – either you lack a personal strategy for using LinkedIn or you’re not a LinkedIn user at all – worse yet, you’ve never even heard of it. Whichever category you might belong to, you need to get yourself out of it, join the masses, and create a brand for yourself online. Here’s why:

 Before I started my job here at Procom, not only was I absent from LinkedIn, but I was also an avid boycotter of all social networks, excluding Facebook. I didn’t like the idea of being “found” online, nor did I see the point of spending countless hours chatting virtually with friends that were really just a phone call away. As much as I wanted to believe that my “offline presence” strategy was benefiting me (by allowing me to be more productive with my time), it was actually doing me harm because as valuable personal and professional relationships were being formed online, I was being left behind to contemplate my “productivity gains”.

 After much deliberation, I decided to swallow my pride and join the millions of Facebook users and LinkedIn professionals, the latter network having provided me with countless career opportunities and valuable professional contacts from around the globe.  Just the other day, I was “InMail-ed” by a fellow Procom employee (whom I had never even met) for an interesting opportunity regarding my interest in hockey (details available to the public only through my LinkedIn profile). Thus my LinkedIn strategy is actually quite simple (as can be yours!):

  1. I have 100% Profile Completeness
  2. I am constantly connecting – be it with past colleagues; current friends; or contacts for future opportunities
  3. I include keywords in my profile that allow me to be “found” (ironically enough)

 Since having accepted social networking as a part of my life, I have not only recruited several individuals to join LinkedIn, but I myself have been “recruited” by others – something that my ‘real’ social network is unable to do for me – how can you compare your circle of personal contacts and friends with a rapidly expanding global network of 12million+ professionals? You can’t. Young or old, job-seeker or not, everyone out there needs to embrace social media and make themselves visible to the masses. And what better place to do it than the World Wide Web! Ignoring the power of social networking because the concept is overwhelming to you will leave you struggling to communicate in the very near future. Get out of your comfort zone and create a brand for yourself on the Web – don’t get stuck communicating the way people used to – start communicating the way people do today, for better opportunities tomorrow.

**Article inspired by Jane and Marta**

2 Responses to “What’s Your LinkedIn Strategy?”

  1. Dear Sweens, thanks for the article. Sometimes out there on the waters of the unknown, you really have to do what makes sense to you. I’m glad I embraced social media and Lindedin in ’09

    I’m in Toronto, played, coached and love hockey. My Leaf’s aren’t having a good early season time. What’s your hockey involvement?

    Thanks,

    Richard

    Richard Furlong, President/CEO
    http://www.government-mailing-lists.com
    Government Name Services – United States | Canada

  2. sweens said

    No I guess your leafs are not off to the best start just yet. Could be worse though I’m sure! My involved is on the officiating side. I am a referee in the Ontario Hockey League!

Leave a Reply

 
