Tom Sweeney

It's a coming of age tale….

Hyperion and Essbase in Ottawa

Posted by sweens on August 11, 2009


I (and many other firms in Ottawa) am currently on a search for candidates with Oracle Hyperion and Essbase experience.  This search has turned out to be fairly complex for myself but I would suggest that the Ottawa market is not flowing with this experience.  Perhaps my opinion here is biased – having worked at Cognos (now IBM) before – but Cognos arguably has the biggest chunk of the Business Intelligence (BI) market in Ottawa.

 Hyperion was acquired by Oracle in hopes of boosting their BI space worldwide.  From my brief stint in sales and having a father who is a sales manager for Cognos in Ottawa, I have seen much much much more Cognos BI tools sold into Ottawa then compared to Oracle.  This certainly does not mean that there are no Oracle BI tools in the Ottawa market, but I certainly have not seen a lot of companies who use these tools.

 This is the first search I have come across where a client has asked for resources with this tool set and so far it has been a slow process.  Is anyone else feeling this regional challenge?

2 Responses to “Hyperion and Essbase in Ottawa”

  1. Hi Tom,

    The Hyperion requirement is pretty crazy. When I looked at the RFP, I wasn’t thrilled with the idea of trying to find consultants that satisfied everything.

    Good luck,
    Jon

  2. shogan said

    The Ottawa talent pool for Hyperion consultants is very limited. I can help you out. I live in Stittsville and have been working with Hyperion for over 10 years. Send me an email if you’re interested in speaking.

    seanhogan27@hotmail.com

Leave a Reply

 
