Tom Sweeney

It's a coming of age tale….

Following up on a job: It’s like dating…

Posted by sweens on June 24, 2009


I think some candidates need to realize that at times they can walk a fine line between following up with a recruiter and stalking them.  I recently came in one morning and had 17 (no I am not exaggerating) messages from the same number.  However the messages only involved the sound of the person hanging up the phone.  No actual message.

 Naturally, the next day the number called me again and I was a little hesitant to answer the phone so I was hoping the person would leave me a message.  No message was left but another 12 hang ups were.  I mean really, enough is enough.  Leave me a message so I know who is calling and what you are calling about.

 We live in a world where almost everyone has caller ID – in fact I can not even think of someone who does not have caller ID.  This means that your call is showing up somewhere.  There are times throughout the day when I am busy and will not answer my phone.  Perhaps I am on my cell phone or even working down the hall in a boardroom.  God forbid I may even be interviewing a candidate and am simply unable to pick up my phone at that moment.  The solution to getting in touch with a recruiter who you are having difficulty connecting to is to leave them a message and let them call you back.

Calling a recruiter 15 times a day is not the solution. 

 Getting a recruiter to call you back can sometimes be like giving your phone number out at the bar.  Once you get that number, how quickly should you call them?  How many times should you call them?  Ultimately, there reaches a point where you just have to give up and say “he or she is just not interested in me”.

 I am not suggesting the a candidate give up, but candidates need to be aware that recruiters often work on tight deadlines and finding candidates as quickly as possible can usually be the best way to close business.  With that in mind, the position you want to talk to me about, may not be the number one thing on my priority list.  It does not mean that I will not call you back; it just means that right now I have something else I need to do.  While finding a job is likely your number one priority, the job you are applying for may not be my number one priority yet.

 I can appreciate the passion any candidate puts into finding a job and following up with me.  I just want to say – be careful of how aggressively you tackle this.  Candidates who call me too many times in a day remind me of trying to get a girl on a date and calling her 10 times without leaving a message.  It will just end up making me look bad and will act as a turn off.  Is she going to want to date me?

One Response to “Following up on a job: It’s like dating…”

  1. Ann said

    I would like to share with you a website where you can fax your resumes to companies of your choice for few cents. They give you the option to send your resume via fax or email to Construction, Architecture, Engineering and Manufacturing Companies. Seems pretty cool since, we have the choice to select the companies we would like to work with and the cost is just few cents.

Leave a Reply

 
