Tom Sweeney

It's a coming of age tale….

Resume Writing: The objective…

Posted by sweens on June 15, 2009


As my blogging buddy Jonathan McLeod has pointed out before, there are some points that candidates put on their CVs that a recruiter typically does not find very useful. I am speaking about your hobbies. However on the same train of thought, I would argue that the OBJECTIVE portion of your CV is a crucial one – but it is often done poorly.

‘The objective’ is usually the first part of your CV that I read when I am evaluating a resume. I want to see your objective match what my client is looking for. A mistake candidates often make is that they have a generic resume with a generic objective.

This is fine if you do not have any specific titles listed in your object and talk more about your desire to contribute to an organization, develop skills, etc. What you should avoid doing at all costs is having and objective that says “I am looking for an Architect position” and then submitting that resume to a Database Administrator position.

You now have a resume that does not match the job details/client needs and you likely just screened yourself out for that specific position.

4 Responses to “Resume Writing: The objective…”

  1. Too true. I’m not as big a proponent of the “Objectve” as you, but I do like to see some sort of introductory note, whether it be an Objective, a Summary or a Profile.

    However, what I really hate is the objective that reads thusly, “To become a valuable and contributing member of a dynamic and growing company as I further develop my career.” That’s great; you’ve just spent 19 words saying nothing. (Full disclosure: I’m sure I had something like this on my resume when I went to get my first “real” job.)

    It’s all about focus and strategy. Your resume has to say something; it must have some sort of value proposition, so that the recruiter knows that you’re the right person for the specific job. If people keep this in mind, they should be able to put together an effective resume.

    • mrl8nite said

      You’re absolutely right. Most “old style” objective lines lines don’t work anymore. I tell people in my blog that the objective line is now about selling, not asking.

      No more is objective statement that old “I’m looking for a satisfying career where I can learn new skills on your dime and work comfortably until I retire” statement, it’s now needs to be a strong “This is what skills I can bring to bear on your business issues so your firm can excel” statement.

  2. I agree with Jonathan McLeod.. it’s all about strategy 😉

  3. Gary Smith said

    Have never used an objective and never will. I believe that my CV speaks for itself in terms of my abilities and experience. I don’t apply for positions for which I am not qualified, so I don’t see the need to have an objective statement on my CV. My CV has served me well for over 30 years and I have had no trouble finding meaningful work.

Leave a Reply

 
