Tom Sweeney

It's a coming of age tale….

DOs and DON’Ts of resume writing: Don’t make mistakes….

Posted by sweens on June 9, 2009


Well to follow up my post from yesterday I have come across another issue with some of the work I have been doing. Mistakes in the resumes of my candidates! Hey, it happens. We all make mistakes but like any recruiter will tell you, showing ‘us’ your CV with a lot of mistakes in it, does not give a favourable impression.

I am not talking about spelling mistakes but rather mistakes in the overall formatting of the CV like: different fonts; projects out of order; and missing projects all together. These can really make sorting through your experience an ‘adventure’, not to mentioning completing grids a disaster.

Now I know this is a bit of a stereotype, but often times these mistakes are found in the CVs of some really senior candidates – but this a trend I would expect with new resume writers and not the experienced ones.

I am not meaning to point the blame anywhere because I certainly make my fair share of mistakes, and really, I can understand how a project gets numbered incorrectly when you are listing 39 projects in your resume. But do everyone a favour and proof read your CV a few times.

It will make everyone’s life easier in the long run…

One Response to “DOs and DON’Ts of resume writing: Don’t make mistakes….”

  1. aa said

    Hi Tom,
    I totally agree with you. I’m not a recruiter, but I am a person that often gets asked to review other people’s resumes (usually after they have seen my resume). When I look over some of them, I think to myself, I can’t believe this resume has already been released in this state! In my case, I review my CV multiple times AND have it reviewed by several other people – I think this point is important, because no matter how perfect you think your resume is, someone else may see something you didn’t notice.

    My two cents!
    A

Leave a Reply

 
