Tom Sweeney

It's a coming of age tale….

Senior candidates: Use with caution…

Posted by sweens on May 15, 2009


Well I have suggested it a few times in previous blogs that senior resources would start to feel the pressure of the recession and would begin to start considering lower paying – lower positions – within an organization and I am beginning to see it.

For whatever reason, I saw a flurry of positions this week where some of them where junior to intermediate (2 – 5 years experience). My rates were indicative of the experience required and I had numerous applications from senior level resources. Sure enough they told me what they were expecting in terms of a per diem – way above what I could offer them – but once I told them what my rate was – 90% of the candidates were willing to accept that.

Is that good?

Yes and no. As I have mentioned before, it is good for the client(s) as they can get a senior resource without having to pay for them. But it is also bad as these candidates will likely be the first to leave should a higher paying opportunity come around.

So I suggest it again – use with caution….

Leave a Reply

 
