Tom Sweeney

It's a coming of age tale….

Market update: still not good…

Posted by sweens on April 20, 2009


I have certainly been slacking on the blogging over the last two weeks but I have given myself a good kick in the butt and am back on the blogging train (I hope).  That being said, I am not overly sure what to blog about today – not that I am sure on any day.  Not much has changed over the last two weeks in the recruiting industry that I can see.

 

I feel like the market has reached a lull point in any direction.  I have not heard of any major layoffs as of late.  The number of resumes I am seeing has decreased.  Perhaps the panic stage has passed us by?  Or perhaps candidates simply no longer want to work with me?

 

But let us not fool ourselves.  It is still an extremely tough market.  There are more people completing for fewer jobs then before so the market is extremely tight.  Candidates need to find a way to push themselves to the front of the line and be seen.  All industries seem to be tough (including the recruiting industry).

 

Lately I have seen the following positions on a ‘frequent’ basis:

 

         Programmer / Analyst

         Project Manager

         SAP

         PeopleSoft

 

I have seen a drop in the following:

 

         Quality Assurance / Verification

         Business Analyst

         Database work

 

Obviously, the bulk of the positions I have been seeing pertain to Government contracts as they continue to spend like it is their job, but the private sector has completely slowed down.  I wonder if “it is always darkest just before the dawn” applies in this situation.

Leave a Reply

 
