Tom Sweeney

It's a coming of age tale….

SAP vs PeopleSoft: Highest paying jobs?

Posted by sweens on March 30, 2009



Often times in my daily contact with candidates, I find myself engaged in conversations about what technologies are hot or what the high demand / big paying jobs are in the market today.  To those people who are willing to accept a new career path I suggest they look into two products – PeopleSoft or SAP.  Before we dive into these two products, I would say that if you lived in Ottawa and had a Secret level security clearance and experience with either PeopleSoft or SAP, you would be deciding which contracts you wanted and which ones you did not.

 

PeopleSoft and SAP offer both financial and human resources solutions to clients all around the world.  They are arguably the two biggest solutions on the market today and are found in many private and public sector clients in the Ottawa area.  What sparked this blog for me was that I was wondering how much certification for these positions cost.  This thought came to be as I worked on recruiting an SAP order and the person I was speaking to wanted to be paid $135 per hour.  Naturally I thought to myself “how can I get a job that pays as much?”

 

The answer is pretty simple – get a job in PeopleSoft or SAP.

 

But it comes at a price, a very large price.  Training for SAP and PeopleSoft is to say at the least ‘slightly’ on the expensive side.  Let us take for example someone who wants to train themselves as an SAP Netweaver MDM consultant.  You go to www.SAP.com, find the training you are interested in and register for each class.  The MDM training has 7 courses that are required in order to complete the certification – ranging from a 4 hours to a 5 day course.    With an average (estimated) cost of $3000 – Canadian – per course, you are looking at over $20000 in order to certify yourself. 

 

All of a sudden, these high bill rates are starting to make sense to me.

 

I did a quick search on PeopleSoft training and the prices are comparable.  What a smart business model by Oracle (owners of PeopleSoft) and SAP.  Not only do they get to make money via the sale of the software, they get to make money on the training.  The training is also expensive enough to deter anyone who is not serious about it, and therefore keeps the supply in the market reasonably low. 

 

And there you have your high bill rates – highly trained and overly demanded professionals.  So I continue with my usual suggestion in that if you are looking for a high paying job – get into SAP or PeopleSoft.  While the training will cost you a pretty penny, you will certainly have the ability to make your money back (and then some) in a very short time frame. 

5 Responses to “SAP vs PeopleSoft: Highest paying jobs?”

  1. Anks said

    Collection of PeopleSoft Interview Questions and Answers

  2. Somethimes I prefer solely to go my personal way

  3. donald said

    As a SAP professional, I disagree… Certification and no experience = FAIL.

    Certification with experience will give you an edge over those with experience but no certification.

    There is a large pool of experienced professionals in both ERP areas and it is getting more competitive.

    • Jimmy The Cricket Engineer Slaving Away At 10:30pm at Night said

      At those rates you bet I’ll be getting into SAP asap!
      I paid more than 20k for my education and I get nowhere near that amount. Engineering is a scam avoid!. Employers prefer non-canadians as they are cheaper (they only really want the passport) and the government is making it a piece of cake for anyone to get a job here. There are also no certifications or barriers whatsoever.
      I’ve seen SAP people at work and it is a peice of cake compared to most jobs. Folks getting into SAP are from all different backgrounds just to show you how easy it is.

  4. It’s difficult to find knowledgeable people in this particular subject, however, you seem like you know what you’re talking
    about! Thanks

Leave a Reply

 
