Tom Sweeney

It's a coming of age tale….

The Way I See It

Posted by sweens on March 19, 2009


As I am sure you are aware by now – I suffer from a small Starbucks coffee addiction. I have often thought about incorporating the Starbucks quotes I read on the back of my cup into my blog and today I figured I would as it has some relevance on a conversation I had today.

 BACKGROUND – Starbucks has a section on each cup titled “The Way I See It.” If you go to their website you will find a tab that explains the thought behind this. Starbucks tries to promote good and healthy discussions amongst its customers. As such, they put a quote on the back of every cup which represents a collection of thoughts, opinions and expressions provided by notable figures in an effort to promote these healthy and good discussions.

Back on track – I was having a conversation today with a friend about choosing between a job that pays more money but offers less career potential or a job that pays less but offers more of a career path. Which to choose? Based on that conversation, I only offer the idea that getting trapped into a job that you hate but is financially satisfying can be dangerous.

On that note, I leave you with my Starbucks quote from today:

“Failure’s hard, but success is far more dangerous. If you’re successful at the wrong thing, the mix of praise and money and opportunity can lock you in forever.”

Please visit the following URL for more information on “The Way I See It”.

Leave a Reply

 
